Home Page

Impact Sefton Secondary Pupil Referral Unit


GCSE Results 2018 -19

The New GCSE Grades 9-1 Explained in 2 Minutes

There is still some confusion about the new GCSE grades 9-1, particularly how they compare to the 'old' grading system of A*-G. This video hopes to briefly explain the changes and to put at least some minds at rest about their implications. Thanks to for the fantastic royalty free music.


The English Baccalaureate (EBacc) is a school performance measure. It allows people to see how many pupils get a grade C or above in the following subjects below.


The EBacc is made up of:

  • English
  • mathematics
  • history or geography
  • the sciences
  • a language


0% of pupils achieved the EBAC measure in the academic year 2014 -2015

Progress 8 (explained in 3 minutes)

Progress 8 is a new measure of mainstream school performance. It replaces the previous measure of 5A*-C including English and maths, and shows how well pupils of all abilities have progressed, compared to pupils with similar academic starting points in other schools.