Home Page

Impact Sefton Secondary Pupil Referral Unit

OCR ICT Level 1 / Level 2 Cambridge Nationals

Level 1/2 Cambridge Nationals in ICT



The OCR Cambridge Nationals are vocationally related qualifications equipping pupils with the fundamental transferable skills in ICT essential for success in employment and further education. Cambridge Nationals deliver these skills across the whole range of learning styles and abilities, effectively engaging and inspiring all students to achieve great things.


Cambridge Nationals in ICT are targeted at 14-16 year olds in a school environment. They’re available as an Award, Certificate and Diploma, with the Certificate being the same size as a GCSE. They use both internal and external assessment and are recognised by the recently published DfE Performance Tables for 2014.


The underpinning skills and knowledge will enable learners to choose the most appropriate progression routes for their particular needs (further study, Further Education (FE) or employment).


All results are awarded on the following scale


Distinction* at Level 2

Distinction at Level 1

Distinction at Level 2

Merit at Level 1

Merit at Level 2

Pass at Level 1

Pass at Level 2

Distinction at Level 1


What Will I Learn

The qualification is structured into different stands.


Mandatory Units:

R001: Understanding Computer Systems – written paper 1 hour

R002: Using ICT to create business solutions – Centre assessed task, OCR moderated



Creative Strand

Interactive multimedia, digital images, dynamic products using vision and sound


How will I be Assessed?

1 formal written exam – Understanding Computer Systems – set and marked by OCR

Other units are centre assessed and OCR moderated. Pupils may present the majority of evidence in different formats, for example, electronic files, printouts, screenshots, oral explanations, videos, sound files.